It’s that time of the year..

Fall.

Finally it is fall! What does that mean in Texas?

The leaves change?    …kind of.
It gets cooler?   …  70-80’s cooler! Believe me that is nice here!
Pumpkin spice lattes.
Fall candles and decor are out in my home! This year Yankee Candle has outdone their previous scent of Pumpkin Vanilla with Pumpkin Buttercream. Oh how divine it smells!
And most importantly with fall comes the State Fair of Texas!

I usually attend the fair in the morning when it opens and there are not too many people around. However, the only time my husband and I could go this year was in the afternoon. Different atmosphere then I am used to.

We were able to get into the fair for $4 just by bringing in a Dr. Pepper can! Love saving money 🙂
Our first stop was the Children’s Barnyard.

There were baby zebras, lots of goats, cute piglets, camels, ostriches, llamas…all kinds of fun animals! I always love going just to see what animals are different year to year.

Next we headed down the International Blvd in search of the main attractions of the fair:

Big Tex.
Standing strong at 52 ft. The classic Texas State fair icon wears size 70 boots, a 75 gallon cowboy hat, a size 100 180/181 shirt and 284W/185L XXXXXL pair of Dickies jeans. (referenced from Wikipedia) .
You can’t miss him.

Also we found..

Fletcher’s Corny Dogs.


What’s better than a corn-breaded, deep fried, steaming hot dog on a stick?
Nothing at all.

Our favorite place to go is the car show. You can see any car you would like, sit in it, and admire the new technology that comes out every year. Last year I was way more into it than this year. Since I bought a car this year, my excitement has been lost for new technology. However I did find one car intriguing.

This was a Chevrolet truck custom painted with scenes from 9/11 all around the truck. It was very heartfelt and moving to look at. That day is something I will definitely never forget for all of my life. So many events stemmed from that one tragedy to make me the woman I am today. On the back of the truck, they placed every name of police officers and fire fighters lost that day.

Very neat.

On our way out of the park, we sampled one more fried item (since thats what you have to get at the fair).

This was the Fried Pineapple Upside Down Cake. Aka.. a pineapple slice covered in funnel cake batter, fried, topped with whipped cream, and a cherry. It was actually pretty good! Me and my husband split it.

We also caught a glimpse of this creative art piece randomly placed in the park.

These were license plates formed into pinwheels on stands in the shape of all the states. As I stood back from it, I noticed that they were all strategically placed in the shape of the US. Very Neat.

The other big eye catcher of the fair is the huge Ferris wheel! It costs 12 tickets/person to ride. We decided not to ride since we were ready to leave. I just snapped some pictures instead!

If you’ve never been to the Texas State Fair, find a day and go! It is worth the experience at least once! I have made it a tradition almost every year that I have lived in Texas. There is always something new! My goal next year is to enter the photography contest they always have. Maybe even the baking contest. We will see!

Hope you enjoyed this post! Have a wonderful weekend!

Ash†

PS-Remember to love the ones you’re with.

 

Leave a Reply

