Oreo Dirt Cake


Do you remember the days when you used to eat dirt pudding?

Oreos…
chocolate pudding…
and the infamous gummy worms!?

Well my friends, I have a more adult version of that minus the gummy worms..sorry. If you want to feel like a kid, go ahead and add them…or just have a bag and eat a few while you make it. Whatever you please 🙂

I remember my mom making this my freshman year of college and sending me back to school with a ton of it! Of course I shared with my friends, and my roomie happened to love it! So that year, I made it for her birthday!

Shout out to my freshman roomie- Stephanie!! Oh the memories 🙂 We had a fun time that year!

Would you like to find out how to make this delicious dessert?

Ready?

Let’s go..

Grab some sugar, 2 packages of cream cheese, a stick of butter, instant vanilla pudding, crushed oreos, cool whip, vanilla, and milk
Place the cream cheese and butter into a bowl and cream away! (make sure both are at room temp)
When creamed, add cool whip and sugar, and cream again
Grab another bowl, add the instant vanilla pudding, vanilla, and milk. Whisk until thickened.

*Fact: Did you know the cap of the vanilla bottle when filled measures to about 1 tsp? Just a good little tid bit of knowledge I learned from my mom!

Combine the pudding mix with the cream cheese mixture and you have your filling!!
Fill the bottom of a 13×9″ pan with half of the crushed oreos
Cover the oreos with the cream cheese mixture
And…

voilà!

You have Oreo Dirt Cake!  Cover and place in the fridge for a few hours before serving!

Please mom, can I have a little bite?”
My dog, Lizzie, seems to always be at my feet when I’m in the kitchen.

Believe me this is a decadent, rich dessert!!
If you are trying to watch your calories, sugar intake, etc..there are some ways to lighten it up.

  • Oreos-Reduced fat oreos (I used the full out oreos)
  • Sugar- Stevia in the Raw. The recipe calls for 2 cups of sugar. I used 1 cup stevia in the raw and 1 cup real sugar. It still tastes wonderful!! Try it!
  • Cream cheese- I use 1/3 less fat always. Feel free to use fat free, but to me the flavor is lost. The 1/3 less fat tastes the same as the regular cream cheese to me.
  • Butter- I can’t believe it’s not butter, or even the Smart Balance butter sticks.
  • Milk- I drink skim on a regular basis, so I used this for my recipe.
  • Pudding- I used the sugar free vanilla pudding, and believe me- You cannot tell a difference!
  • Cool Whip- Grab the lite version. Less sugar than the original.
I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!  My co-workers get to be my taste testers tonight at work! We nurses like our desserts 🙂
Here is the link for the recipe: Oreo Dirt Cake
Enjoy and God Bless!

 

One thought on “Oreo Dirt Cake

  1. Ur too cute with ur lil blogs ash! Ur so good at and baking, where r the kids already, ur like the perfect lil stay at home mom…with Lizzie! Ha. Wish I were at work tonight to taste ur treat!

Leave a Reply

