anthropology

So I am starting over. A renewal of my blog so to say…
In the last entry I was still a Gill. Now I am a Panelli (going on a year and a half now)!

I chose the title of this blog due to a humbling experience I had this past Sunday morning.

an·thro·pol·o·gy: the study of nature and essence of human nature.

Sunday morning was a cold and rainy one. I got off work around 0730, decided to take the longer route home in hopes I would find Target open and waiting for my arrival. My plan worked, and due to the weather, very few people were around the store. I made my way around the store picking up the items I came for, also wondering why I have never gone this early before. No crowds, easy navigation of the store, it was quite peaceful. Then I remembered…I work night shift for a reason..and that is because I loathe getting up early.

I made my way to one of only two lanes that were open and began to check out my items. In a harmless conversation with the perky worker, we began to open up to each other a little bit. She jokingly picked at me for braving the weather and coming to Target so early, and my response, “I just got off work and figured it would be the best time.” Then we got into what I do and where I work. At this point a man walked up behind me to check out and heard I worked in Dallas, and stated he was an officer for the city. Which of course led me telling him my husband is one locally as well. He also said he had recently brought his daughter to my hospital’s ER and I made sure it was a good experience :). Good customer service, right?

As our chit chat furthered I found out this man had recently lost his father to stage IV cancer. He shared his hard time and what his father went through. You could tell he missed him, but he saw goodness in the relief of his pain. The cashier then interceded and told the two of us her sister had lung cancer and through faith, has not had any complications. She told us about her family praying from the first day on and the provisions the Lord had shown them. It was so heart warming to hear that. We all smiled at the conversation and we all felt the small connection between the 3 of us. Who knew on a cold, rainy Sunday morning, a conversation in the check out line of Target would be like this? I know who did, the Lord. As I was on my way out, the cashier just gushed about how both me and the man had touched her, and thanked us for what we did. I did the same to them, as a wife of an officer and oncology nurse, I could identify to both.

It’s amazing how perfect the Lord’s timing always is. He always does something to catch you off guard. Our floor is going through a rough season right now, there is a lot of loss, sickness, and frustration. To hear the patient’s perspective, (whether they are talking about pediatric onc or not) it gives me a sense of renewal. I do what I do for a reason. I am here for the families. I am here to help their child in one of their greatest times of need. They need the emotional support. Not only that, they need the comfort of the Holy Spirit. I know the families that are Christians and ones that aren’t. But you know what, the deeds and tasks I do are of the Lord no matter what. We as humans are hopeless without Him. I can tell you one thing, if I didn’t have Him in my life, I would be  sad, depressed, and angry at the world for what I see everyday. Because of Him, I see there is a reason for it all. 

I know this is long, but I hope this somehow touched you.  I enjoyed sharing this with you.

Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.
Proverbs 16:24

A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones. Proverbs 17:22

God Bless,

Ash

Leave a Reply

