It was a Pinterest Christmas

I had a wonderful suggestion from my friend Katherine to start blogging about what projects I do from Pinterest. I do have to admit, I’m a little bit of an addict. Give a creative mind an outlet, and they will run with it. I did a few projects for Christmas presents this year, and I would like to share them with you:

Family Trees

Here is the Pinterest post:

Source: etsy.com via Ashleigh on Pinterest

I thought this was so creative and something great to make my sweet Grandparents. For the most part, our families are complete. The only thing I would eventually add are my kids (wayyyyy down the road). Here are the materials I used:

  • 11 x 14″ canvas
  • Sharpies
  • Ribbon
  • 11 x 14″ felt for the back

I made several trial runs on paper first. Here was the final product:

I loved this because it is so personal and you can do it however you want! One thing I added to my trees that the Pinterest example did not have were additional words in the branches that I felt described my family. It added more depth to the tree, and more personality.

52 Reasons Why I Love You

Here is the Pinterest post:

I’m always looking for creative things to do for my husband for Christmas. I’ve come to discover that it is sometimes harder than you think to come up with gift ideas for your spouse. I loved this idea as soon as I saw it!! All you literally need is a deck of cards and sharpies! I didn’t put a picture on the front like this example. Here is how mine turned out:

Starbucks giftcard

I have a group of friends at work that love Starbucks! We alternate bringing it for each other if we work together. They are the best. So for one of them, I decided to do this awesome Pinterest idea:

I literally asked a barista for a cup and brought a straw home to do this. I didn’t have any brown paper, so I just used what I had! Here is how it turned out:

Homemade Chalkboards

This was one of my favorite things to make this Christmas. There were many steps involved but it was so fun, and let me run with creativity!! Here is the Pinterest post:

Here are the materials you need for this:

  • Chalk paint
  • Frames (whatever size you choose)
  • Wood panels cut to the size of the frame (mine are 9×12″)…you can get these cut to size at Lowes or Home Depot
  • Spray paint (if you want to color the frames)
  • Antiquing glaze
  • Any kind of decorations you would like

These took a few days to make, but I really enjoyed it! I love to paint! Who knew how simple and fun these could be to make?!

I even had one leftover that has been fun for me to take pictures with and write on it!

I hope you enjoyed this post! I look forward to sharing more Pinterest ideas with you all :)
God Bless,
Ash†

One thought on “It was a Pinterest Christmas

Leave a Reply

